Nautical Striped Coffee Table

20130704-232947.jpg
I had been redoing a lot of coffee tables and I really wanted to do something different. I searched through Pinterest for hours and couldn’t really find anything. I thought about doing another chevron pattern, it’s really popular and usually sells fast but it just didn’t seem to go with the style of this Queen Anne inspired piece. Plus I didn’t want to measure it.
That’s when my laziness worked to my advantage. I decided to do an easy striped top. No measuring involved, I wanted the stripes to be different sizes. I picked out a cream and a navy paint, mixed it with my un-sanded grout to get the thick coverage and soft look of chalk paint. (You can find a great tutorial on making your own chalk paint here )
After painting the legs cream I went to taping off my stripes. I did it very randomly. I knew I wanted some of the wood grain to be in the mix so wherever I put my tape would be the wood stripe. I alternated the navy and cream and let it dry for about an hour (chalk paint dries really fast).
I pulled off the tape and lightly sanded the entire piece until it felt smooth.

20130704-235208.jpg
Then I started distressing with my sanding block, just making it look well-loved. I topped it off with two coats of Minwax finishing paste and she was done ( I don’t know why all my pieces are girls, probably because every girl deserves a makeover). I’m pretty smitten with Nautical Nancy.

20130704-235811.jpg

20130704-235728.jpg

Leave a Reply

