Waste Not, Want Not

20130904-142937.jpg
Le Sigh…
I have been wanting to redo our crappy den for quite some time now. It is the boys playroom and I shouldn’t care what it looks like but I do! My husband won’t let me buy all the things I want for that room (he doesn’t want to spend money on things that the boys will inevitably destroy) but I just can’t handle the old, ripped, stained furniture and carpet anymore. So I need to be creative.
I would love to get one of the chevron ottomans from West Elm pictured above, but with a $500 price tag, it’s just not feasible.
I have this…

20130904-144117.jpgGross. BUT…
I found this awesome chevron burlap at the walmarts for only…wait for it…$3.97/yd!!

20130904-150002.jpgAt that price, why not just try to cover it myself and make my own damn chevron ottoman? It couldn’t look any worse.
So I took the top off of the hinges (it’s a storage ottoman so my best bet would be to only cover the top).

20130904-151230.jpgThen I laid the burlap flat on the ground (pattern side down) and put the top of my ottoman (top side down) on top of it making sure to line up the edges with the chevron pattern.

20130904-151507.jpg
Next, I stapled. I started on one longer side, pulling the burlap loosely and just making sure I stapled along the chevron evenly all the way across. Then I did the same on the other long side, this time pulling the burlap tightly.

20130904-151923.jpgI then trimmed off the excess fabric and went to staple the shorter sides, starting in the middle and working towards the corners. Corners are tricky and I don’t really have a sure-fire way of doing it so I just pulled and tugged and twisted until it looked good, then I stapled the crap out of it.

20130904-152335.jpgNow that she was all stapled up and secure, I attached the top back to the base of the ottoman.

20130904-152617.jpg(So easy I didn’t even have to pull my quilts out.)
VOILLA!

20130904-152912.jpgOne piece of furniture down, the rest of the den to conquer. Stay tuned as I shop for cheap slip covers for my couches. (Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated)

20130904-155106.jpg

20130904-155118.jpg

8 thoughts on “Waste Not, Want Not

  1. Awesome project. I really like your style!
    While everyone else makes this type of project seem so difficult,
    you make it look easy enough for even me!
    Thank you.

    Like

  2. Not sure if it’s already been suggested, but the canvas drop cloth from Home Depot is a perfect tan canvas that is pretty cheap for a huge piece. That might work out well for the slipcover. The ottoman looks amazing! Can’t wait to tackle mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

